CONCORDIA annual report 2018
CONCORDIA pays out entire surplus earnings to the insureds

Annual Report

The year 2018 was exceptional for CONCORDIA in financial terms. The cost of benefits per capita in Mandatory Health Care Insurance has fallen. This has led to extraordinarily high surplus earnings of CHF 157 million. As a non-profit association, CONCORDIA passes on the entire surplus earnings to its insureds.

The so-called negative price increase of 2.1% was not foreseeable. It led to a significant surplus of premiums in comparison to benefits in the Mandatory Health Care Insurance of CONCORDIA despite a negative investment result. In this case, the Swiss Health Insurance Supervision Act (KVAG/LSAMal/LVAMal) allows health insurance providers to reimburse their insureds one time from the result achieved in the previous financial year. As a non-profit association and due to its financial health, CONCORDIA will pay back in 2019 its premiums collected in excess to those with basic insurance.

For this reason, persons insured by CONCORDIA in 22 Swiss cantons will benefit from a premium equalization of CHF 108 million for the first time in 2019, in addition to the payment of reserves amounting to CHF 55 million already under way (this premium equalization is subject to the approval of the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (BAG/OFSP/UFSP). The repayment occurs within the framework of Art. 17 and 18 KVAG/LSAMal/LVAMal and is calculated individually for each canton. The amount that is refunded depends on the premium surplus of the respective canton and ranges between CHF 50 and CHF 610 per adult with basic insurance.

With invoice verification and benefits management, CONCORDIA was able to save CHF 328 million last year. At the same time, regarding the insurances pursuant to the Swiss federal law on health insurance (KVG/LAMal), only 4.6 Swiss centimes from each premium franc were expended for administrative costs; the remainder was used in the form of benefits paid to the insureds.

In addition, CONCORDIA was able to welcome 14,000 new insureds alone to the basic insurance scheme.

CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd and CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd: key figures for the 2018 financial year                                                                                               
Persons with basic insurance in Switzerland and Principality of Liechtenstein as of 1.1.2019 632,000
Employees 1,200
Agencies and branches 200
Administrative costs for Mandatory Health Care Insurance 4.6 %
Result CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd before provision for payment to the insured persons CHF 157m
Result CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd CHF 60m
Premiums earned across all classes of insurance CHF 2.8bn
Benefits paid out  CHF 2.4bn
Combined ratio KVG/LAMal 96.6 %
Combined ratio VVG/LCA 86.7 %

Additional Information

CONCORDIA Geschäftsbericht 2018
CONCORDIA zahlt ganzen Ertragsüberschuss an die Versicherten aus

Geschäftsbericht

Das Jahr 2018 war für die CONCORDIA in finanzieller Hinsicht aussergewöhnlich. Pro Kopf gerechnet sind die Leistungskosten in der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung (OKP) gesunken. Dies hat zu einem ausserordentlich hohen Ertragsüberschuss von 157 Millionen Franken geführt. Als nicht profitorientierter Verein gibt die CONCORDIA den gesamten Ertragsüberschuss an ihre Versicherten weiter.

Die sogenannte negative Teuerung von 2.1 % war nicht voraussehbar. Sie führte in der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung der CONCORDIA trotz eines negativen Kapitalanlageergebnisses zu einem deutlichen Überschuss der Prämien im Vergleich zu den Leistungen. Das Aufsichtsgesetz über die Krankenversicherung (KVAG) erlaubt es den Krankenversicherern in diesem Fall, ihren Versicherten einmalig Geld aus dem erzielten Ergebnis des abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahres zurückzuerstatten. Als nicht profitorientierter Verein und aufgrund ihrer finanziellen Gesundheit zahlt die CONCORDIA die zu viel eingenommenen Prämien noch 2019 ihren Grundversicherten zurück.

Darum werden die CONCORDIA-Versicherten in 22 Schweizer Kantonen neben der bereits laufenden Auszahlung aus den Reserven im Umfang von CHF 55 Mio. im Jahr 2019 erstmals von einem zusätzlichen Prämienausgleich in der Höhe von CHF 108 Mio. profitieren. (Diese Auszahlung erfolgt vorbehältlich der Genehmigung des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit BAG.) Die Rückzahlung findet im Rahmen von Art. 17 und 18 KVAG statt und wird für jeden Kanton einzeln berechnet. Der Betrag, der zurückerstattet wird, hängt vom Prämienüberschuss des jeweiligen Kantons ab und bewegt sich zwischen 50 und 610 Franken pro grundversicherte erwachsene Person.

Mit Rechnungskontrollen und Leistungsmanagement sparte die CONCORDIA letztes Jahr 328 Millionen Franken. Gleichzeitig wurden bei den Versicherungen nach Krankenversicherungsgesetz von einem Prämienfranken lediglich 4.6 Rappen für Verwaltungskosten ausgegeben; der Rest wurde in Form von Leistungszahlungen zugunsten der Versicherten eingesetzt.

Zudem durfte die CONCORDIA allein in der Grundversicherung 14'000 neue Versicherte willkommen heissen.