CONCORDIA annual report 2018
CONCORDIA pays out entire surplus earnings to the insureds

Annual Report

The year 2018 was exceptional for CONCORDIA in financial terms. The cost of benefits per capita in Mandatory Health Care Insurance has fallen. This has led to extraordinarily high surplus earnings of CHF 157 million. As a non-profit association, CONCORDIA passes on the entire surplus earnings to its insureds.

The so-called negative price increase of 2.1% was not foreseeable. It led to a significant surplus of premiums in comparison to benefits in the Mandatory Health Care Insurance of CONCORDIA despite a negative investment result. In this case, the Swiss Health Insurance Supervision Act (KVAG/LSAMal/LVAMal) allows health insurance providers to reimburse their insureds one time from the result achieved in the previous financial year. As a non-profit association and due to its financial health, CONCORDIA will pay back in 2019 its premiums collected in excess to those with basic insurance.

For this reason, persons insured by CONCORDIA in 22 Swiss cantons will benefit from a premium equalization of CHF 108 million for the first time in 2019, in addition to the payment of reserves amounting to CHF 55 million already under way (this premium equalization is subject to the approval of the Swiss Federal Office of Public Health (BAG/OFSP/UFSP). The repayment occurs within the framework of Art. 17 and 18 KVAG/LSAMal/LVAMal and is calculated individually for each canton. The amount that is refunded depends on the premium surplus of the respective canton and ranges between CHF 50 and CHF 610 per adult with basic insurance.

With invoice verification and benefits management, CONCORDIA was able to save CHF 328 million last year. At the same time, regarding the insurances pursuant to the Swiss federal law on health insurance (KVG/LAMal), only 4.6 Swiss centimes from each premium franc were expended for administrative costs; the remainder was used in the form of benefits paid to the insureds.

In addition, CONCORDIA was able to welcome 14,000 new insureds alone to the basic insurance scheme.

CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd and CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd: key figures for the 2018 financial year                                                                                               
Persons with basic insurance in Switzerland and Principality of Liechtenstein as of 1.1.2019 632,000
Employees 1,200
Agencies and branches 200
Administrative costs for Mandatory Health Care Insurance 4.6 %
Result CONCORDIA Swiss Health and Accident Insurance Ltd before provision for payment to the insured persons CHF 157m
Result CONCORDIA Insurances Ltd CHF 60m
Premiums earned across all classes of insurance CHF 2.8bn
Benefits paid out  CHF 2.4bn
Combined ratio KVG/LAMal 96.6 %
Combined ratio VVG/LCA 86.7 %

Additional Information

CONCORDIA Rapport de gestion 2017
CONCORDIA reverse tout son excédent de produits à ses assuré·es

Rapport de gestion

Pour CONCORDIA, l’année 2018 a été un franc succès sur le plan financier. Les coûts des prestations par personne assurée ont chuté dans l’assurance obligatoire des soins (AOS), ce qui a permis de dégager un excédent de produits exceptionnellement élevé, de CHF 157 millions. Association à but non lucratif, CONCORDIA entend faire profiter sa clientèle de la totalité de son excédent de produits.

Contre toute attente, l’année 2018 a été marquée par un renchérissement négatif de 2.1 %. Dans l’assurance obligatoire des soins de CONCORDIA, cette évolution a entraîné un excédent de primes significatif par rapport aux prestations déboursées, malgré un résultat négatif pour les placements de capitaux. La loi sur la surveillance de l’assurance-maladie (LSAMal) permet dans ce cas aux assureurs-maladie de redistribuer, sous la forme d’un versement unique, une part des bénéfices obtenus aux assuré·es. Forte de sa bonne santé financière, CONCORDIA remboursera en 2019 les primes perçues en trop à ses clients et clientes disposant de l'assurance de base.

Ainsi, dans 22 cantons suisses, les assuré·es bénéficieront – pour la première fois en 2019 – d’une compensation des primes s’élevant à CHF 108 millions, en plus du versement déjà en cours issu des réserves à hauteur de CHF 55 millions (sous réserve que l’Office fédéral de la santé publique [OFSP] donne son approbation). Ce remboursement s’effectue conformément aux art. 17 et 18 LSAMal; le montant est calculé séparément pour chaque canton et dépend de l’excédent de primes encaissé dans le canton en question. La somme reversée variera entre CHF 50 et CHF 610 par adulte.

Grâce au contrôle des factures et à la gestion des prestations, CONCORDIA a économisé CHF 328 millions l’année passée. Parallèlement, pour chaque franc de prime versé pour les assurances selon la loi sur l’assurance-maladie, seuls 4.6 centimes ont été affectés aux charges administratives, tandis que le reste a servi à financer le paiement de prestations en faveur de ses assuré·es.

Par ailleurs, CONCORDIA a pu se réjouir de 14’000 nouvelles affiliations dans l’assurance de base en 2018.

Informations complémentaires